New Brunswick.—The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission was incorporated under the Electric Power Act, 1920. Generating stations owned by the Commission at Mar. 31, 1959 were as follows:—

Plant	Type	Capacity	Plant		Capacity
		hp.			hp.
Musquash Tobique			Saint John		
Beechwood	Hydro	. 90,000	ChathamGrand Manan	Diesel	1,1401
Milltown			Campobello	Diesel	3201
			TOTAL CAPACITY.		256,720

¹ Capacity rating of generators in kw. converted to hp.

All the above generating units with the exception of Grand Manan were interconnected in a province-wide grid system. The statistical information given in Table 15 shows the growth of the Commission's undertakings since 1955.

15.—Growth of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Years Ended Mar. 31, 1955-59

Item	1955	1956	1957	1958	1959
High-voltage transmission linemiles	888	1,071	1,121	1,228	1,272
Distribution line "	6,891	6,937	7,100	7,168	7,286
Direct customers No.	66,531	69,415	76,490	79,550	84,025
Plant capacities hp.	140,570	140,570	166,250	256,720	256,720
Power generated kwh.	422,750,090	493,609,040	606, 443, 490	653,331,610	754,714,180
Capital invested \$	56,634,724	71,140,250	90, 152, 808	100,390,025	104,511,683
Revenue\$	8,528,459	9,635,272	11,286,117	12, 182, 120	13,527,290

Power plant construction recently completed or under way in New Brunswick is outlined at p. 608.

Quebec.—The Quebec Streams Commission.—Created by SQ 1910, c. 5, and given additional powers in 1912 (RSQ 1925, c. 46) and SQ 1930, c. 34, the Quebec Streams Commission was authorized to ascertain the water resources of the province, to make recommendations regarding their control, and to construct and operate certain storage dams to regulate the flow of streams. It assisted companies engaged in such work by the systematic collection of data on the flow of the principal rivers and on meteorological conditions, by investigation of numerous water power sites and by the determination of the longitudinal profile of a large number of rivers.

On Apr. 1, 1955, the Quebec Streams Commission was abolished and its powers and attributions transferred to the Hydraulic Resources Department, Province of Quebec. The rivers controlled by the Commission at the time of transfer, either by means of dams on the rivers or by regulating the outflow of lakes at the headwaters, were: the St. Maurice, the Gatineau, the Lièvre, the St. Francis, the Chicoutimi, the Au Sable, and the Métis. The Commission also operated nine reservoirs on North River, two in the watershed of the Ste. Anne de Beaupré River, and one at the outlet of Lake Morin on Rivière du Loup (lower).